Custom Home Builders in Newton County, Georgia

Build Your Custom Home in Covington, GA

Newton County Georgia is an outlying suburb of metro Atlanta, less than an hour to the big city, but still maintains the comfort of a quiet country-living community. You may have visited this unique county without realizing it- the county has become a magnet for movie and tv production. Over 30 movies (My cousin Vinny, Remember the Titans) and the tv series, In the Heat of the Night were filmed here. Beautiful scenery and history not only make Newton a great place to make films, but a great place to live as well.

Like much of the region, the area was once home to the Creek Indians. The hunting and fishing lands of this proud people were relinquished in the early 1800s, and in 1821 Newton County was created by the General Assembly, carving it out of Henry, Jasper, and Walton Counties. The county is named for Sgt. John Newton- a hero of the Revolutionary War. The historic Brick Store- still standing today- was built then serving many functions, including the first county court session.

Almost no part of metro Atlanta was untouched by Sherman's March to the Sea in 1864, and Covington- the county seat- was no exception. Many public buildings, bridges and railroads were destroyed, however, the homes and plantations were left and many of these beautiful old homes proudly grace the streets of Covington and Oxford. The Georgia Methodist Conference founded Emory College in Oxford in 1836. Though the main campus later moved to Atlanta, Emory University still houses an extension here- Emory at Oxford.

Newton County, like most of the metro Atlanta area, has seen tremendous growth in the last decade. The county has kept pace with growth, with nine new schools and 57 new classrooms built over the last 8 years. Newton County students have been recognized for their achievement at both state and national levels. Newton Medical Center provides state of the art acute care for the region and is the county's second largest employer. The board of education is first. CR Bard, General Mills, and Pactiv are leading industry employers of the county.

The county provides diverse housing options for every family. Apartments abound around the central city of Covington, historic 1800s era homes, subdivisions, and acreage lots. There are also beautiful lofts in a converted textile mill in Porterdale. Housing in Newton County is varied and affordable. Much of the county remains unspoiled, with trees and flora flourishing. With the abundant green space, excellent education and many housing options, Newton County would be a fine choice to call home.

Moving to Newton County

For those wishing to take full advantage of all that Newton County has to offer year round, Southland Custom Homes is a Georgia Builder that specializes in custom home building for the Newton County area. Southland Custom Homes is an on-your-lot custom home builder, meaning that they build the home of your dreams in the location of your choice!

With over a 100 floorplan options to choose from and an array of top-of-the-line interior appointments, Southland Custom Homes is among the premier Georgia Builders. In addition to providing a huge selection of plan options, Southland Custom Homes will even work with new homebuyers to alter a specific floorplan so that it is exactly what the buyer wants. If you are looking for a custom builder in Newton County, Southland Custom Homes is sure to meet and exceed your expectations.

Southland Custom Homes, a custom builder in Newton County, GA has model showrooms located in Dawsonville(98 Bethel Drive., Dawsonville, GA 3053), Macon(3956 Bloomfield Village Drive, Macon, GA 31206) and Marietta(265 N. Cobb PKWY, Marietta, GA 30062). Stop by or call us today at 1-866-56-BUILD* to see all that Southland has to offer!

If you are looking for a home builder in GA, Southland Custom Homes builds in the following locations:

Appling County
Atkinson County
Bacon County
Baker County
Baldwin County
Banks County
Barrow County
Bartow County
Ben Hill County
Berrien County
Bibb County
Bleckley County
Brantley County
Brooks County
Bryan County
Bulloch County
Burke County
Butts County
Calhoun County
Camden County
Carroll County
Catoosa County
Charlton County
Chatham County
Chattahoochee County
Chattooga County
Cherokee County
Clarke County
Clay County
Clayton County
Clinch County
Cobb County
Coffee County
Colquitt County
Columbia County
Cook County
Coweta County
Crawford County
Crisp County
Dade County
Dawson County
Decatur County
DeKalb County
Dodge County
Dooly County
Dougherty County
Douglas County
Early County
Echols County
Effingham County
Elbert County
Emanuel County
Evans County
Fannin County
Fayette County
Floyd County
Forsyth County
Franklin County
Fulton County
Gilmer County
Glascock County
Glynn County
Gordon County
Grady County
Greene County
Gwinnett County
Habersham County
Hall County
Hancock County
Haralson County
Harris County
Hart County
Heard County
Henry County
Houston County
Irwin County
Jackson County
Jasper County
Jeff Davis County
Jefferson County
Jenkins County
Johnson County
Jones County
Lamar County
Lanier County
Laurens County
Lee County
Liberty County
Lincoln County
Long County
Lowndes County
Lumpkin County
Macon County
Madison County
Marion County
McDuffie County
McIntosh County
Meriwether County
Miller County
Mitchell County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Morgan County
Murray County
Muscogee County
Newton County
Oconee County
Oglethorpe County
Paulding County
Peach County
Pickens County
Pierce County
Pike County
Polk County
Pulaski County
Putnam County
Quitman County
Rabun County
Randolph County
Richmond County
Rockdale County
Schley County
Screven County
Seminole County
Spalding County
Stephens County
Stewart County
Sumter County
Talbot County
Taliaferro County
Tattnall County
Taylor County
Telfair County
Terrell County
Thomas County
Tift County
Toombs County
Towns County
Treutlen County
Troup County
Turner County
Twiggs County
Union County
Upson County
Walker County
Walton County
Ware County
Warren County
Washington County
Wayne County
Webster County
Wheeler County
White County
Whitfield County
Wilcox County
Wilkes County
Wilkinson County
Worth County

We also build in the following cities in Georgia:

Belvedere Park
College Park
East Point
Forest Park
North Atlanta
North Druid Hills
Peachtree City
Sandy Springs
Warner Robins